Blog By K.

OSCARS: They’re winning tonight

In Actor, Director, Film, TV on 2011/02/27 at 11:15 pm

After much filmwatching, filmhunting and filmpredicting these are my picks of the winners tonight. Feeling pretty confident, I must say.

WINNERS of the 2011 Academy Awards

Best Picture: The Social Network

WRONG! Winner – The King’s Speech

An obvious choice. It seems to be Fincher’s year and every Fight Club-loving maniac out there will be grinning their teeth while shouting YOU’RE THE MAN, FINCH! Ugh. Perhaps I’ve expressed my difficulties with Fincher before? And as bad as it sounds, they are completely because of him, not his works. Or well, maybe a little of that as well. Se7en was a fantastic film, Fight Club was well made but couldn’t measure up with the book. And the ending. THE ENDING. (I’m talking about the film, if you’ve read the book you’ll get my point.) Afterwards it became trendy to “like Fincher” and state that he’s a god walking among men. I was turned off by this. But none of that really matters once you’ve seen The Social Network because it is very very VERY well-made and what’s the term…. very now. Every student will be able to resonate with it and every cinephile will drool of its cinematography and writing. Only other film that can be a big contender is The King’s Speech, but it doesn’t stand a chance next to…. sigh … The Fincher.

Best Actress in a Leading Role: Natalie Portman (Black Swan)

The tough contender here is Annette Bening but after seeing The Kids Are All Right I’m convinced Portman is taking it home, which I kinda was even before, really. The woman made the performance of a lifetime and has been the lucky winner in every other award ceremony. The only hesitation I have is if The Academy wants to give it to Bening just to be politically correct. I’ll boycot The Oscars next year if they do.

Best Actor in a Leading Role: Colin Firth (The King’s Speech)

Firth has had a wonderful year, and apparently given a wonderful perfomance (I’ve yet to see The King’s Speech, but as everyone else I’ve heard promising things about the film) so there’s no question he’s winning this year. He’s won every other award so it’s a given choice.

Best Actress in a Supporting Role: Melissa Leo (The Fighter)

I feel SO BAD about not seeing the The Fighter yet, much due to the fact that Bale is nominated for it, so I’m only choosing Leo because of what I’ve seen and heard from other sources. I’ve watched some of her other works and the woman has talent, there’s no question about it. The Academy will most likely acknowledge that as well.

Best Actor in a Supporting Role: Christian Bale (The Fighter)

Halle-fucking-lujah. About damn time. I could go on and on like this. He’s never even been nominated before and it’s a disgrace, most people would agree. This, along with some of his other more recent works, is probably one of his most commercial films which I’m betting The Academy took under consideration here. And the fact that they’ve robbed the guy so many times before. ‘Nuff said, Bale’s winning tonight and I’m absolutely stoked for him. I just hope he doesn’t give another “Fuck you De Niro” speech.

Best Director: David Fincher

WRONG! Apparently not Fincher’s year. Winner – Tom Hooper from The King’s Speech

Again, it’s Fincher’s year. And however smug this guy may be about his talent, that’s the thing: he HAS talent. You couldn’t deny it when watching TSN. For what it is, for what it stands, it is immaculate as a film and the flaws are hard to find. The other nominees are equally as talented, just look at Aronofsky, the Coen brothers, Hooper and O. Russel. My heart wants Aronofsky (just watch Pi and Requiem for a Dream) but the head says David Fincher, and it’s gonna be him.

Best Animated Feature: Toy Story 3

I almost cried of joy when I saw this film. It is so well-written, so well-made and so utterly entertaining from start to finish. Probably the best of the series. A winner of every category in my book (but not really). The others don’t stand a chance.

Best Original Screenplay: David Seidler (The King’s Speech)

Seidler has also been the big contender this year, and I wouldn’t bet on anyone else than him. If anything the film has said to be nothing without its superb script and I can’t argue with that. I found the screenplay for The Kids are All Right way over-hyped (it wasn’t extra-ordinary in any way) and The Academy would NEVER give it to Nolan’s Inception either, no matter how much I admire the guy. Too much mindfuck in that one. Another year Chris.

Best Adapted Screenplay: Aaron Sorkin (The Social Network)


The guy used to write for The West Wing. Need I say more? But no, the script was great, and I sincerely mean that. Without it the movie would be nothing. The other nominees, such as Boyle and Beaufoy or the Coen’s, are just as deserving but they’ve already won in the past.

Best Foreign Language Film: Biutiful (Mexico – Alejandro González Iñárritu)

WRONG! And I’m kinda happy about it. Go Bier. Winner – In a Better World (Hævnen)

Now this is a tricky one. On one hand I’m kinda rooting for In a Better World (Hævnen) since it’s Susanne Bier and Mikael Persbrandt – two very respected people here in Sweden, and it’s been over two decades since Scandinavia’s won an Academy Award. But something tells me Bardem and those agony-filled eyes are taking it home this year. But I have to say, I’m really torn on this one.

Best Documentary Feature: Inside Job

This film feels more relevant than any of the others, which sounds really bad now that I think about it, but hey – this is America we’re talking about it. Exit Through The Giftshop has gotten a lot of hype, but it just feels too artsy and goofy to win the actual award. Nope, I’m going for Wall Street and the economy here.

Leave a Reply

