Blog By K.

correction: this will be the last time I predict

In Film, Life, TV on 2011/03/01 at 12:34 am

After watching The Academy Awards last night I have to admit, and I cannot believe I’m saying this, but Fincher was robbed! The King’s Speech ended up the winner in both Best Picture and Best Director. This does not bid well for Fincher’s ego. Or maybe it does actually. Anyway, my predications were waaay wrong but trust me – so were many others. Everyone in cinematic cyberspace were pretty much convinced The Social Network had this in the bag but alas it was not so. Which means I totally lucked out with my predictions, both on Best Picture and Best Director, a huge misstep on my part. I thought that when having Franco and Hathaway as the hosts perhaps The Academy wanted more than ever to be overly hip this year. TSN would indeed be an odd choice, even for them, but for some reason the timing felt right. I’m thinking there’ll definetely be more King’s Speech’s but Social Network’s? I’m not sure. In any case, this made me realize that maybe I should only reveal my foretellings to those closest to me next time. Like say the mailman.

Leave a Reply

