Blog By K.

“Looking at cleavage is like looking at the sun. You don’t stare at it. It’s too risky. You get a sense of it and then you look away.” (- Jerry Seinfeld)

In Life, Travel on 2011/03/29 at 9:13 pm

Me quoting Jerry, some of us discussing inappropriate bets between a male and a female, others laughing over seventy something women groping twenty something men (a man who’d actually experienced this was not laughing as much) and yada yada yada. All of this happening during a long weekend trip visiting my old friend Ida who lives upstate. To summarize: it was an awesome trip. But in all honesty it was also excessively unpredictable. Looking back at it now, I’d say this was a good thing. From the very start I tumbled upon several nuisances and these I think are two worth mentioning:

Obstacle nr 1: Getting to the trainstation

I am not a person who easily panics, and I certainly didn’t panic when I realized my bus was unusually late. In order to get on the train, I needed to get on this bus basically. But I thought, “Heck, I can probably catch a ride with my parents. Right?” Wrong. It hit me then suddenly that they were in fact out of town. So what was needed of me? I had to get to the central station – a distance of 30 min – within 15 min. WITH I MAY ADD a rolling suitcase. Can you imagine the sight of a woman running non-stop (seriously, non-stop people) for over 15 minutes with a rolling suitcase? In heels on top of that?
I got there 7 minutes before the train departed but I strongly believe my dignity was left behind somewhere on the way.

Obstacle nr 2: Moving my luggage over to another friend

Now in the town of Linköping I had comfortably stayed with my friend Ida. But I was to crash at another friend’s house one night and with all the junk I had I needed to take the bus to get there. As eloquently put by philosopher/ninja fighter Morpheus: “Fate, it seems, is not without a sense of irony.” So I get on the bus, only to discover however that I’m missing my main luggage – the suitcase. Yelling GODDAMMIT STOP THE BUS PLEASE I get off and run back to get my things. Then a revelation – not a great one – hits me. We were already running late to a pre-party and knowing that riding a bike to my other friend’s place is a way shorter time-route than the actual busride I decide this: I will ride the bike, with all of my stuff with me, and have Ida sitting on the bicycle rack holding the rolling suitcase. So when riding the bike she’ll be with me on the rack keeping the suitcase steady while it’s, well, rolling away. HOW GENIUS, I thought. Again, imagine the sight of us and the looks we got by people passing by.

To be fair, I wasn’t exactly over-joyed while these things kept happening. I just described the biggest obstacles of the trip but for some reason a lot of other similar but smaller in magnitude-problems kept occurring as well. All of it was evidently tiresome but made everything so much more memorable. And this is most often the case of course. A trip that keeps coming to mind and that ultimately ends up dominating most of the conversations me and my former classmates have is the ridiculously bizarre trip to Kiev we went on in high school. But that’s a completely different story, and one that’ll probably pop up here sooner or later anyway.

Leave a Reply

