Blog By K.

Hype of the week: Midnight in Paris

In Actor, Director, Film on 2011/05/30 at 9:10 pm

Film: Midnight in Paris
Director: Woody Allen

“Woody Allen has made a wonderful new picture, “Midnight in Paris,” and it’s his best, most enjoyable work in years.” (LA TimesThis is what the buzz has been about these last couple of weeks, especially with the film kicking off in Cannes.

I have to say, I haven’t always been rooting for Woody. I officially became a convert after Match Point, but by then I hadn’t even seen Allen in his glory days with ManhattanAnnie Hall and Hannah and her Sisters and honestly haven’t still. I know, don’t kill me. But after seeing Scarlett prance around with Rhys Meyers in London and with Hall, Cruz and Bardem in Barcelona I simply couldn’t help myself of liking these films, on the verge of loving them. So after just glimpses of his latest work and all of the critical praise I’d been so eager to see what everyone was talking about but also to once more be engulfed in a city (or country) I never seemed to get tired of. The film is certainly also many actor’s comeback picture: both McAdams and Wilson have had wonderful careers in the near past but slowly cooled down on everyone’s radar, at least in comparison to their previous massive successes. McAdams real comeback however must have been Sherlock Holmes last year but it’s safe to say that she’s gotten a lot more attention for her performance in this film than the other. So, what is to be expected of Allen’s latest picture? Quirky humor, bien sûr (pardon my french). Out of this world unnecessary hassels. Unlikeable likable characters. And an overall feeling of dialogue ingenuity. How do I know this already before seeing the film? Why because it’s been included in every Allen film for the past decade or so, and from what we’ve all heard by now, this latest installment might just be the greatest example of them all.

Leave a Reply

